08.12.16

“He who works with his hands is a laborer. He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman. He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.” Francis of Assisi

The Federal Duck Stamp. It’s time! Brian’s painting is complete! With 3 days to spare before it makes its way to Virginia.

The contest will be held September 9 & 10 in Philadelphia. One person will be the winner of the 84th Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp (or as we call it, Federal Duck Stamp).

Each year, I sit on my computer and watch the contest live online. With great anticipation and on the verge of an anxiety attack…

I cannot even put into words how excited I am for him right now. I cannot even begin to tell you how wonderful this painting looks. I stood with tears in my eyes, in utter awe, as he held it up for me to see last night. Purely magical. I even told him that, “that one (as I pointed to the wall) may no longer be my favorite…” – that ONE painting that is “old” and I refuse to let him sell to the world because “it’s mine”… may have a contender.

I wish I could show you all! But… unfortunately, right now, I cannot.

As I stated in my last post, “he has yet to become frustrated. So that only tells me that it is coming soon. There comes a point in every contest painting he does where, ‘something just isn’t quite right’– and the whole process halts.… That hasn’t happened yet… It could be that he has and is growing so much as an artist that it won’t occur.”

It never happened.

He, not once, in this entire process this go-round got discouraged. It has been smooth sailing for the past few months. I truly believe that this piece was a turning point. A huge leap of personal development. To watch him continue on, for hours, and enjoy each moment. For days, weeks, months. To pour his entire being into this one painting – and never once doubt himself in any way. He is making waves and moving mountains with his artwork. And I could not be more honored to share in his experience.

I want to wish all artists who are entering, Good Luck. There are so many great painters out there. It’s “the largest art contest in the world” – or so I’ve heard. A true honor to win.

If you have free time, I would highly suggest watching The Million Dollar Duck. It is a newly (just this week!) released documentary about artists, and the history/world behind the Duck Stamp Contest. It can be viewed only through iTunes or Amazon; rented or purchased. Brian and I purchased it on Wednesday and have already watched it twice. Very fascinating and informative.

Million-Dollar-Duck-Poster_1200_1727_81_s.jpgUntil next time…

 

 

Leave a comment